Airfields & Airports


The first airfield on Oahu was Luke Field at Ford Island. Airfields were expanded to Wheeler and Schofield Barracks. John Rodgers Field was dedicated by the Territory of Hawaii in 1927. Construction of Hickam Field began in the late 1930s. Before World War II, new airfields and airstrips were opened by the military, including NAS Barber’s Point, Ewa and Kaneohe, and Bellows Field. Small airstrips were also developed by private pilots.


Airfields on the island of Hawaii were located in Hilo, Kamuela, Kona, South Cape and Upolu.


Airfields on the island of Kauai were located at Lihue, and Port Allen.


The airfield on the island of Lanai was located at Lanai City.


Airfields on the island of Maui were located at Hana and several locations in the vicinity of Kahului.


Airfields on the island of Molokai were located at Hoolehua and Kalaupapa.

Seaplane Anchorages

The most important seaplane anchorages were located at Pearl Harbor and Kaneohe Bay on Oahu; Kahului and Lahaina on Maui; Nawiliwili and Port Allen on Kauai, and Hilo on Hawaii.

French Frigate Shoals

French Frigate Shoals Air Traffic Statistics

French Frigate Shoals was under the control of the Hawaii Aeronautics Commission from 1946-1949.

Ceded Lands

Portions of lands underlying Honolulu, Kahului, Hilo and Keahole airports are lands which were ceded by the Republic of Hawaii to the United States in 1898 and subsequently conveyed to the State by the United States at or following Hawaii’s admission to the Union in 1959.